IMPENDING MIGRATION | Metro Manila, select areas to get 8-digit landline numbers

3 months ago

JANUARY 17, 2018 — In case you missed it, the National Telecommunications Commission (NTC) has directed telecom providers to change the landline numbers in selected areas of the country starting March 2019.

The migration will be done to accommodate the rising number of landline customers in Metro Manila and other areas in Rizal, Laguna and Cavite.

Under NTC Memorandum Order 10-10-2017, all existing seven-digit telephone numbers under the area code “02” will be migrated to an eight-digit telephone number.

A number from “3” to “8”, depending on their service provider, will be added to the beginning of the existing number which serves as their Public Telecommunication Entity (PTE) identifier.

For example, a PLDT customer, will have the PTE identifier “8” added before their current number: 8XXX-XXXX.

All subscribers are expected to be migrated not later than March 31, 2019.