NEW SENATE PRESIDENT? | 14 senators seek to replace Pimentel with Sotto

8 months ago

MAY 17, 2018 – A majority of senators have signed a resolution seeking to remove Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel as Senate President and replace him with Majority Floor Leader Tito Sotto.

The 14 senators who signed the resolution were Sonny Angara, Loren Legarda, Nancy Binay, Manny Pacquiao, JV Ejercito, Chiz Escudero, Win Gatchalian, Ralph Recto, Richard Gordon, Joel Villanueva, Gringo Honasan, Cynthia Villar, Panfilo “Ping” Lacson and Migz Zubiri.

In a message, Sen. Grace Poe said she will sign as well once she gets back from abroad.

“…by a majority vote of all Senators, Senator Vicente C. Sotto III is hereby elected as the new Senate President to discharge the duties and powers granted to him by the Rules of the Senate;

Now therefore, be it resolved, as it hereby resolved by a majority vote of all the Senators, to express its sense to re-organize its leadership, and hereby electing Senator Vicente C. Sotto III as the new Senate President,” according to the resolution.

Asked whether he is willing to step down, “Sure, no problem,” Pimentel answered.

The resolution might be presented to the senators on a caucus on Monday after which the new senate president is expected to assume his post.