PURGING | Duterte names suspended gov’t officials who are under investigation

9 months ago

MAY 16, 2018 – In continuing to fulfill his promise to rid government of corruption, President Rodrigo Duterte on Wednesday read a list of government officials who are currently suspended and are under investigation.

At least 14 officials from various departments were mentioned in the list.

Included are DOJ Assistant Secretary Moslemen Macarambon and DPWH Assistant Secretary Tinangun Umpa, the two assistant secretaries that, according to Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque yesterday, the President asked to resign or face termination.

“DOJ Assistant Secretary Moslemen Macarambon, I think he has resigned the other day,” Duterte said while reading the list to the members of the press.

“Ang isa pa, for corruption, I will fire or if I were him… itong si DPWH Asec. Ting Umpa,” he furthered.

According to Duterte, the list will be submitted to the Office of the Ombudsman for the formal filing of charges.

“Lahat ito, ifo-forward ko sa Ombudsman. Not me, hindi kami ang mag-iimbestiga, Ombudsman,” Duterte said.